FCC Chair Given Another Five Year Term

Ajit Pai, the Chairman of the FCC (Federal Communications Commission), has been given another term on the FCC. The Senate voted for his additional term mainly along party lines with 48 Republicans and four Democrats casting votes for Pai to serve until 2021.

This vote was not without controversy. Most Democrats were against five more years mainly because of Pai's proposed dismantling of net neutrality. There has also been a fire FCC Chairman Ajit Pai petition from consumer group, Free Press. Senator Bill Nelson (D) stated that Pai is "a vocal, overly partisan, and often hostile opponent of pro-consumer steps taken by his colleagues under the previous administration. And since becoming chairman of the FCC, he has systematically undercut much of the work done over the past eight years."

On the other side of the aisle, the Republicans praised him for a job well done and were happy to give him another term. Pai's new term is five years and retroactive to July, 2016.